'It's Our Net' Coalition: House Vote No Suprise Posted by Jake on June 09, 2006

June 8, 2006Reaction to tonight’s House vote from the “It’s Our Net” Coalition:
Unfortunately, the House voted today to protect the big phone and cable companies at the expense of preserving an open Internet. We are not surprised at the outcome, but we are disappointed that the House has abandoned Net Neutrality despite a groundswell of concern from an ever-growing group of Internet users, small businesses, consumer groups, Internet companies, public interest organizations, trade associations and family and religious groups.
Some House members, however, have worked tirelessly to preserve the rules of the road for the Internet and we would like to particularly thank Representatives Rick Boucher (D-VA), Chris Cannon (R-UT), John Conyers (D-MI), John Dingell (D-MI), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Bob Goodlatte (R-VA), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Jay Inslee (D-WA), Ed Markey (D-MA), Heather Wilson (R-NM), and Chairman Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI).
Net Neutrality remains a critical underpinning of the Internet. Without it, the unparalleled success of the Internet is threatened. We are optimistic as the issue moves to the Senate, where a bi-partisan Net Neutrality bill has been introduced by Senators Olympia Snowe (R-ME) and Byron Dorgan (D-ND). We look forward to working further with Chairman Stevens (R-AK) and Co-Chairman Inouye (D-HI) on this very important issue and we are very appreciative of the positive and substantive conversations we have had, and continue to have, with Senators and their staffs. We are confident that the Senate understands and appreciates the importance of Net Neutrality to the Internet and to the American economy and will take steps to preserve the Internet as a vibrant and wildly successful open marketplace where innovation can blossom and where users have the freedom to experience it as they wish.